top of page

Who am I ?

My name is Federico Di Cocco, psychologist and psychotherapist in training in integrative cognitive-behavioral psychothérapy (see section psychotherapy). I did part of my studies in Italy, to then settled here in Brussels. 

Very quickly in my studies I became interested in questions about the relationship with the body and self-image, gender identities and sexual orientations, the relationship to the norm, the search for meaning and purpose.

At the center of all these aspects, certain values guide my research and my interests:  

- curiosity about different forms of the human experience, which translates into the respect for self-determination and the need for a therapeutic relationship based on parity and collaboration

- a holistic view of people and their behaviors, far from imprisoning determinisms. We always act in reaction to a context and according to an adaptation to it based on our experience and the means available at a certain moment. Reducing suffering to an individual fault makes no sense to me.

- practices oriented by empirical data, in a direction of integration of several theoretical currents

Training and experience

Since the beginning of my studies, I quickly felt the need to come face to face with the realities on the field. For this reason I have volunteered in the field of suicide prevention, several internships, academic and extra-academic, in the several psychiatric units. On these occasions I was confronted with forms of suffering such as psychosis, depression, anxiety disorders, post-traumatic stress, problematic addictions, diseases of the body, etc.

Successively, my professional experience allowed me to develop expertise in the management of problematic addictions, linked to psychotropic products or without products. 

During my university studies I was approached cognitive-behavioural, systemic and psychoanalytical therapies. Due to a need for clarity and pragmatism, as well as a solid empirical base, I decided to undertake training in integrative cognitive-behavioral psychotherapy, which allows me to implement interventions with concrete tools, but also to be able to integrate systemic point of view, beyond a purely individual vision of the difficulties experienced. 

bottom of page

top of page

Qui suis-je ?

Je m'appelle Federico Di Cocco, psychologue et psychothérapeute en formation d'orientation cognitivo-comportementale intégrative (voir section psychothérapie). J'ai effectué une partie de mes études en Italie, pour ensuite m'établir ici à Bruxelles. 

Très vite dans mes études je me suis intéressé aux questions du rapport avec le corps et à l'image de soi, l'identité de genre et d'orientation sexuelle, le rapport à la norme, la recherche de sens et de but.

Au centre de tous ces aspects, certaines valeurs orientent mes recherches et mes intérêts : 

- la curiosité pour les formes différentes de l'expérience humaine, qui se traduit par le respect de l'autodétermination de soi et par la nécessité d'une relation thérapeutique basée sur la parité et la collaboration

- une vision holistique des personnes et de leurs comportements, loin des déterminismes emprisonnants. Nous agissons toujours en réaction à un contexte et en fonction d'une adaptation à celui-ci sur base de nos expériences et des moyens disponibles à un certain moment. Réduire la souffrance à une faute individuelle n'a pour moi aucun sens

- les pratiques orientées par les données empiriques, dans une direction d'intégration de plusieurs courants théoriques.

Formation et expérience

Depuis le début de mes études, rapidement j’ai ressenti le besoin de me retrouver face aux réalités de terrain. Pour cette raison, j’ai effectué un bénévolat dans le domaine de la prévention du suicide, plusieurs stages, universitaires et extra-universitaires, dans le domaine de la psychiatrie. Dans ces occasions, j’ai été confronté à des formes de souffrance comme la psychose, la dépression, les troubles anxieux, les stress post-traumatiques, les dépendances problématiques, les maladies du corps, etc.

Successivement, mon expérience professionnelle m’a permis de développer une expertise dans la prise en charge des dépendances problématiques, liées à des produits psychotropes ou sans produits. 

Pendant mes études universitaires, j’ai été formé aux approches cognitivo-comportementales, systémiques et psychanalytiques. En raison d’un besoin de clarté et pragmatisme, aussi bien que d’une base empirique solide, j’ai décidé d’entreprendre une formation en psychothérapie cognitivo-comportementale intégrative, ce qui me permet de mettre en place des interventions avec des outils très concrets, mais aussi de pouvoir intégrer des lectures systémiques, au-delà d’une vision purement individuelle des difficultés vécues. 

bottom of page